​Another planetary revolution almost done! 

With the earth successfully completing  another 365 1/4 days of dancing around the sun, still madly in love after centuries, my time on it this year has been filled with many firsts punctuated by moments of the lesser desired emotions as well. Here are a few interesting ones while waiting for a renewal:

1. Started my first job as a junior resident/ house surgeon whichever sounds more impressive and loved the superhero feel of it. Also conning my way to numerous paid leaves (to study; what did you think!) from my senior consultant was worth every puppy dog face I made. I’m so glad he is not reading this. 

The family I found in the staff there and the blessings, laughter, pain, worry and the loss of the patients who were kind enough to let me in in their lives will forever be with me. Though they might not be reading this post but I hope they get well soon. 

2. Got my degree. Yaay! 

And in the oath administered swore that all doctors are my brothers and sisters. Sisters I have no problem with but brothers? All of them? There should be an exception clause. 

Wore a sari for the first time to the graduation ceremony and dreaded the moment when it would fall off. That stuff defies basic physics laws. 

3. Separated from  my college friends who all started their own adult lives after graduation. 

I so miss shopping, idle gossip and making fun of each other. Life is not the same. 

Beginning to feel like an adult. 

4. Started my first blog here. I was a bit reluctant at first but I’m glad I created this space. The love, encouragement and friendship I receive here from all over the world are irreplaceable. Thank you all for always being there for me. 

It feels so much like home that sometimes I forget we speak different languages, have different food, cultures and upbringing. Political borders appear to be just a state of mind in this beautiful world. 

5. Started writing seriously for the first time. 

Although I have been writing since I was a kid but that was only to unclutter my mind. With this blog I started writing for others hoping that my writing doesn’t taste like a piece of boiled broccoli. 

6. Got published and shortlisted on the Jaipur Literature Festival website. The first time I have been published or shortlisted anywhere. I’m proud that I made it this far but screwed up the Skype interview for it. My first interview and I made my ancestors proud by blabbing unnecessary woes of my life to entertain the interviewer. 

7. My best friends from school had kids and for the first time in my life I’m wondering which brand of diapers to gift them with or if ‘The Velveteen Rabbit’ would be too advanced for four month olds.

8. Started baking while retaining my ability to burn water. Isn’t that genius? 

9. Tasted rainbow cake for the first time today. 

10. And I’ll be boring you my first book project in the next post. Beware. 😉

Bye bye

74 thoughts on “​Another planetary revolution almost done! 

    1. Thank you Aks (nice name btw) 😊 I enjoyed your poems very much as well as your favourites listed in your about page.
      Now I feel like a fifty year old woman after being called ma’am😨
      Good luck for your fourth year ahead and a happy new year to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha,I didn’t mean it that way ma’am.. 😛
        Well,we use Sir/ma’am for all our seniors and residents so it just came out spontaneously.. 🙂
        And thank you so much for the appreciation and the wishes.It really means a lot to me!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Congrats on accomplishing number 5! Starting to write seriously is never a easy thing for people who take it very seriously. I applaud you for your bravery. And also another hearty congrats to you being published as well 👏

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks😊
      There is so much inertia, once you start writing you can’t stop and once you don’t you can’t start. I don’t take it that seriously but I had not written anything for many many years.
      Thanks again:-) it was just a small article but a beginning nevertheless.
      Wish you a lovely year Zelda 🌹

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading this post gave me a glimpse of how I’ll be in a few months – Graduating, joining as a JR and of course studying! 😀 God willing it’ll all go well. I’m guessing it’s going to be hard to be apart from friends after spending almost 5 years with them. Congratulations on your accomplishments! Keep writing 🙂 All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Congratulations in advance and good luck👍 your internship must be over by now?
      It is difficult but one must go on. The feeling of responsibility starts creeping in. But stay in touch with them and there is another adventure after that. Find a department with less work, decent working hours and acceptable pay so that you can study too. The nurses and staff become a sort of family when you work with them for so many months and it’s a unique feeling being assigned to manage the same department for a continuous time period unlike internship.
      Thank you.😊 you too.
      A happy new year

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What an exciting year and full of humor, grace, and positive energy. It’s been fun to be part of your blogging journey thus far and I’m looking forward to more. I love your sentiment that “Political borders appear to be just a state of mind in this beautiful world.” I hope that proves true for the year ahead. Good luck with all your endeavors. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks😊
      Don’t you feel so? Sometimes I almost feel like starting a conversation in hindi and then have to remind myself that the other person probably won’t understand.
      I hope that too.
      It has been a pleasure following you. I learnt many things about writing and publishing.
      Ty and I wish you good luck too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

