The Third Mistress Of Time 

​If my eyes held all the stars, 

I would close these eyes forever, 

Keep them safe, just for myself. 

*

If every dust mote inked it’s story on me, 

I would don a midnight blue gown, 

Keep them chained, just for myself. 

*

If time ever knocked on my door, 

I would, with eyes still closed, 

Sweep him off for a dance. 

*

If he dared a look at me, 

I would offer a gentle smile, 

Hiding his secrets forever from him. 

*

If the warmth of his hands ever coated my skin, 

I would still keep these eyes shut, 

Or would I? Just for myself. 

*

Any second now, 

He will be here, 

Let me gaze at those eyes once, 

Let me read another word, 

Just for myself. 

Then I am his. 

***

Picture credit:pixabay

43 thoughts on “The Third Mistress Of Time 

Leave a Reply

