The Third Mistress Of Time 

​If my eyes held all the stars,

I would close these eyes forever,

Keep them safe, just for myself.

*

If every dust mote inked its story on me,

I would don a midnight blue gown,

Keep them chained, just for myself.

*

If time ever knocked on my door,

I would, with eyes still closed,

Sweep him off for a dance.

*

If he dared a look at me,

I would offer a gentle smile,

Hiding his secrets forever from him.

*

If the warmth of his hands ever coated my skin,

I would still keep these eyes shut,

Or would I? Just for myself.

*

Any second now,

He will be here,

Let me gaze at those eyes once,

Let me read another word,

Just for myself.

Then I am his. 

***

Picture credit:pixabay

43 thoughts on “The Third Mistress Of Time 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.